Director: Mark Waters
Writer: John Sayles
Starring: Freddie Highmore, Mary-Louise Parker, Nick Nolte, Joan Plowright, David Strathairn, Seth Rogen, Martin Short
Released: April 3, 2008
Rating: (PG)
Runtime: 96 minutes
Story: When the three Grace children - troubled Jared; his bookish twin, Simon; and their sister, Mallory, a fencing jock - move to the ancient Spiderwick mansion, they are at first none-too-enchanted by the rundown Victorian ... until they discover a Brownie, an enchanted creature, living in the walls. They soon find a book - Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide to the Fantastical World Around You - that will open their eyes to the invisible, odd, and sometimes dangerous world of dragons and boggarts, phookas and fairies, sprites and goblins that is all around them. When they cross paths with Mulgarath, an ogre, they realize quickly that he will stop at nothing to get his hands on the Field Guide. Based on the bestselling series of books by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black.
Freddie Highmore Jared Grace / Simon Grace
Sarah Bolger Mallory Grace
Nick Nolte Mulgarath
Mary-Louise Parker Helen Grace
Joan Plowright Aunt Lucinda Spiderwick
David Strathairn Arthur Spiderwick
Seth Rogen Hogsqueal (voice)
Jordy Benattar Young Lucinda
Martin Short Thimbletack (voice)
Andrew McCarthy Richard Grace
Tod Fennell Helen's Co-Worker
Mariah Inger Nurse
Jeremy Lavalley Tow Truck Driver
Lise Durocher-Viens Mrs. Spiderwick
Tyler Patrick Jones Additional Performer