Director: Chris Weitz
Writer: Chris Weitz
Starring: Nicole Kidman, Eva Green, Daniel Craig, Dakota Blue Richards
Released: December 26, 2007
Rating: (PG)
Runtime: 113 minutes
Story: The first movie based on the bestselling Philip Pullman novels. The "His Dark Materials" trilogy is comprised of "The Golden Compass," "The Subtle Knife" and "The Amber Spyglass". It revolves around a young girl who travels to the far north to save her best friend. Along the way she encounters shape-shifting creatures, witches, and a variety of otherworldly characters in parallel universes.
Nicole Kidman Marisa Coulter
Daniel Craig Lord Asriel
Dakota Blue Richards Lyra Belacqua
Ben Walker Roger
Freddie Highmore Pantalaimon (voice)
Ian McKellen Iorek Byrnison (voice)
Eva Green Serafina Pekkala
Jim Carter John Faa
Tom Courtenay Farder Coram
Ian McShane Ragnar Sturlusson (voice)
Sam Elliott Lee Scoresby
Christopher Lee First High Councilor
Kristin Scott Thomas Stelmaria (voice)
Edward de Souza Second High Councilor
Kathy Bates Hester (voice)